INTERNATIONAL GP14 ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the 66th Annual General Meeting held 23rd August at Pwllheli Sailing Club.

Persons present: 34 members attended the meeting, a full list of their names is filed with these minutes. Apologies were received from Graham Knox, Paul Bowmer, Mandy Mitchell, Paul O'Neill, Paul Rowan and Eddie Ramsden.

1. President's welcome.

Duncan Greenhalgh opened the meeting at 20.05 and welcomed all attendees.

2. Minutes of the 65th Annual General Meeting.

Mark Collingwood apologised for two minor typing errors in item 5 (Treasurer's report and accounts). Subject to the correction of these, the minutes were agreed.

Motion: To accept the minutes of the 65th Annual General Meeting.

Proposed: Jon Close Seconded: Gareth Morris

Vote: Carried unanimously by a show of hands.

3. Secretary's Report.

Mark Collingwood circulated copies of his written report to all attendees and presented it to the meeting. A copy is filed with these minutes

Matters arising:

Duncan Greenhalgh drew the meeting's attention in particular to the huge amount of work carried out by Gill Beddow and the Championship Committee over the past 12 months, highlighting the fact that Gill will be relinquishing the chair of that committee at the next AGM. We record our gratitude to Gill and recognise the need to identify a successor well in advance of her standing down.

It was noted that a rule change had been agreed in order to permit the introduction of mast-head buoyancy and that the options for providing this were now being explored by the Technical and Rules Committee.

As part of Class Development it was suggested that we should seek to promote the boat more actively in Europe. In particular, Poland and some of the former 'Iron Curtain' countries might provide good opportunities in this regard. Similarly, the question was raised as to what extent we have been nurturing the new group in Barbados. As our International Liaison Representative, Stephen Boyle has been maintaining contact with Barbados and he will explore means by which we might further encourage growth of the

class in that country (the sponsorship of a coaching event was offered as one possibility).

4. Treasurer's Report and Accounts.

Attendees were provided with copies of a written report prepared by Paul Bowmer together with copies of the certified accounts for the year to 30th September 2015. The Secretary summarized the report on behalf of Paul, noting in particular his recommendation that subscriptions be held at the present rate for a further year. Paul has indicated that he would be happy to answer queries by e-mail.

A copy of the report is filed with these minutes and the accounts will be placed on the Association's web site in the 'members' area'.

Matters arising: none.

Motion: To accept the Treasurer's Report and accounts, together with the recommendation not to change the existing subscription rates.

Proposed: David Rowlands. Seconded: Gareth Morris.

Vote: Carried unanimously by a show of hands.

The President expressed our thanks to Paul for his work on our behalf over the year.

5. Appointment of Accountants.

Motion: To re-appoint Sergents as the Association's Accountants for the coming year.

Proposed: Chris Beddow. Seconded: Jon Close.

Vote: Carried unanimously by a show of hands.

6. Proposed change to Item 2 of the Constitution.

Motion; to change the wording of Item 2 (b) from:

'From time to time to determine (subject to any necessary approval by the owner of the copyright) the maximum cost and the specifications of the hull, sail plan, weight, spars, rigging and fittings of the Boat.'

To:

'From time to time to determine the specifications and if appropriate the maximum cost of the hull, sail plan, weight, spars, rigging and fittings of the Boat.'

Proposed: David Rowlands. Seconded: Gill Beddow.

Vote: Carried unanimously by a show of hands.

7. Election of Officers.

The following members have been nominated, all without opposition:

President: Ann Penny.

Vice President: Mark Collingwood.

Vice President: Curly Morris. Secretary: Stephen Parry. Treasurer: Paul Bowmer.

Proposed: Jon Close. Seconded: Gareth Morris.

Vote: Carried unanimously by a show of hands.

8. Election of Directly Elected Committee Members.

The following members have been nominated:

Gill Beddow. Lisa Carpenter. Gareth Morris. Justin Smith.

Proposed: Stephen Boyle. Seconded: Graham Fraser.

Vote: Carried unanimously by a show of hands.

Ed Washington has been nominated for the post of Cruising and Vintage Representative.

Proposed: Stewart Elder. Seconded: Gareth Morris.

Vote: Carried unanimously by a show of hands.

9. Confirmed Appointments.

In their roles as presidents of our overseas branches the following are confirmed as Vice Presidents of the International Association:

Stephen Boyle......Ireland
Bruce Quail.....Australia
Trefon Katakazinos.....South Africa
Duncan Frazer.....Sri Lanka

Bruce Idleman.....USA and Canada

Joanne Lammens......Barbados

10. Close of Meeting.

Duncan Greenhalgh closed the meeting at 8.55pm, thanking all those in attendance and expressing his gratitude for all the support he had received, from members both at home and overseas during his term of office. Duncan told the meeting that he considered it an honour and privilege to have served the Association, saying that during his term very many acquaintances had become good friends.

Following the meeting Ann Penny accepted the chair and convened our usual open forum discussion (notes of which are attached). Ann opened the session by expressing our sincere thanks to Duncan for all the work that he has carried out for the Association in his role as President, and on behalf of the Association Ann presented Duncan with the Past-presidents' badge and a celebratory gift.

GP14 Association AGM 2016

Members in attendance.

Macier Matyjaszczuk
Peter James
Unattached
Ivan Washington
Gareth Morris
Edward Washington
Gill Beddow
Chris Beddow
Welsh Harp SC
Unattached
Toddbrook SC
Gresford SC
Toddbrook SC
South Staffs SC
South Staffs SC

Curley Morris East Antrim and Newtownards SC's

Stephen Boyle Sutton DC
Andrew Johnston Sutton DC
Hugh Gill Sutton DC
Paul Simes Cardiff Bay SC

Justin Smith Derwent Reservoire SC

Alan Jones
Tom Simes
David Rowlands
Stewart Elder
Ellie Devereux
Nantwich SC
Cardiff Bay SC
Ulley SC
Hollowell SC
Budworth SC

Sarah Jarman Royal Lymington YC

Nick Devereux Budworth SC Chris Hawkes Poole SC

Lisa Carpenter South Staffs SC Michelle Evans South Staffs SC

Frank Nickless Chase SC and Dovey SC

Carl Jeffs Trimpley SC
Jon Close Winsford Flash SC

Duncan Fraser Ceylon Motor Yacht Club

Gail Fraser CMYC Graham Fraser CMYC

Nick Brandon

South Staffs SC

Duncan Greenhalgh Ann Penny Mark Collingwood Steve Parry